We’re hiring! Join Us.

Latest Stories

View More →

Joe Maddon and Kirk Gibson Are the Managers of the Year

by Photo of Andrew Lontos

The Rays and Diamondbacks managers are the 2011 winners.

Joe Maddon and Kirk Gibson Are the Managers of the Year


Both men were responsible for remarkable turnarounds in 2011 -- one on the drop of a dime in a one-month span, the other in stark contrast to the team's finish from a year previous.

Tampa Bay's Joe Maddon and Arizona's Kirk Gibson on Wednesday were named the American League and National League Manager of the Year, respectively, by the Baseball Writers' Association of America.

Maddon received 26 of a possible 28 first-place votes from two BBWAA writers in each AL city, for a total of 133 points. Detroit's Jim Leyland and Texas' Ron Washington each received one first-place vote and finished second and third, respectively.

Maddon's team and their $42 million payroll won the AL East with a historical September comeback despite losing Carl Crawford, Matt Garza, and most of their bullpen. This is Maddon's second time winning the award.

Gibson's Diamondbacks captured the NL West by winning 94 games, which was a 29 game improvement from the 2010 club's last place season.

Let CHARGED.fm get you the best seats to all your favorite events.

Comments (0)
  1. Add a Comment

    All fields marked with * are required.

Continue (x)

Please Login…

To continue, please login into your CHARGED.fm account.

Don't have an account?
for free.

Hold on a sec…

Login (x)

Hold on a sec…

Sign Up (x)

Hold on a sec…

Share with Friends (x)

Share on other sites

Share this event on your favourite sites and other online communities.

Note: These links will open in a new window

Contact Host (x)
Contact The Host

* All fields are required.