We’re hiring! Join Us.

Latest Stories

View More →

"Slow Motion" by PHOX [Song of the Week]

by Photo of Ross Bernhardt

A gorgeous song gets an equally gorgeous music video. Check out the band’s tour dates also.

PHOX is one of the most exciting emerging folk bands out there right now. They are near the top of my list of bands I'm excited to see the Newport Folk Festival this July, and people are starting to take notice of how good these guys are. A collective of six, the group has a knack for creating whimsical, memorable and elegant folk songs that have plenty of quirk. Their latest single, "Slow Motion," got an official video this week, and it's as delightful as the song is.

The track is layered with flourishes of banjo, clarinet, flute and strings that give the song a grand, epic feel. Lead singer Monica Martin's voice perfectly carries the tune along as we se her moving in slow motion (real time) compared to the fast forward movement of everyone around her in the video. Her lyrics are intriguing as well:

Heavy is my sleeping, terror is my dreaming
While you are pretty through the night
You may taste the salt that rolls off my cheekbone
But you don't know why I cry

Splashed with bright colors and some creative production, the video is a really fitting complement to the song. Check out the track, off their yet-to-be-released self-titled debut, above.

PHOX is heading out for a five-week headlining tour starting in June. They will begin in Omaha and make their way through all of the major markets while hitting up festivals like Newport along the way. Check out the full list of dates below:

PHOX Tour Dates:

Sat May 10, 2014 - Atlanta GA - Shaky Knees Festival
Tue Jun 24, 2014 - Omaha NE - The Waiting Room
Wed Jun 25, 2014 - Kansas City MO - Riot Room
Fri Jun 27, 2014 - Austin TX - Stubb's BBQ (Indoor)
Sat Jun 28, 2014 - Dallas TX - Three Links
Mon Jun 30, 2014 - Scottsdale AZ - The Western
Tue Jul 01, 2014 - Los Angeles CA - The Echo
Thu Jul 03, 2014 - San Francisco CA - The Chapel
Sat Jul 05, 2014 - Portland OR - Mississippi Studios
Sun Jul 06, 2014 - Seattle WA - The Crocodile
Tue Jul 08, 2014 - Salt Lake City UT - The State Room
Wed Jul 09, 2014 - Denver CO - Hi Dive
Fri Jul 11, 2014 - St. Louis MO - Duck Room at Blueberry Hill
Sat Jul 12, 2014 - Champaign IL - Mariposa Music Fest
Sun Jul 13, 2014 - Nashville TN - The High Watt
Tue Jul 15, 2014 - Birmingham AL - The Bottletree
Thu Jul 17, 2014 - Asheville NC - Grey Eagle
Fri Jul 18, 2014 - Chapel Hill NC - Local 506
Sat Jul 19, 2014 - Washington DC - The Hamilton
Mon Jul 21, 2014 - Philadelphia PA - Boot & Saddle
Tue Jul 22, 2014 - Brooklyn NY - Knitting Factory
Wed Jul 23, 2014 - New York NY - Mercury Lounge
Fri Jul 25, 2014 - Newport RI - Newport Folk Festival
Sat Jul 26, 2014 - North Bennington VT - The Vermont Arts Exchange
Mon Jul 28, 2014 - Montreal QC - Casa Del Popolo
Tue Jul 29, 2014 - Toronto ON - The Drake
Thu Jul 31, 2014 - Cleveland Heights OH - Grog Shop
Fri Aug 01, 2014 - Detroit MI - Magic Stick Lounge
Sun Aug 03, 2014 - Green Bay WI - Meyer Theatre w/ San Fermin
Mon Aug 04, 2014 - Minneapolis MN - 7th St. Entry
Wed Aug 06, 2014 - Milwaukee WI - Turner Hall
Thu Aug 07, 2014 - Madison WI - High Noon Saloon
Fri Aug 08, 2014 - Madison WI - High Noon Saloon - SOLD OUT
Sat Aug 09, 2014 - Chicago IL - Lincoln Hall

Want great tickets but hate paying fees? Check CHARGED.fm to find tickets for less and NO FEES!


Comments (0)
  1. Add a Comment

    All fields marked with * are required.



Continue (x)

Please Login…

To continue, please login into your CHARGED.fm account.

Don't have an account?
for free.

Hold on a sec…

Login (x)

Hold on a sec…

Sign Up (x)

Hold on a sec…

Share with Friends (x)

Share on other sites

Share this event on your favourite sites and other online communities.

Note: These links will open in a new window

Contact Host (x)
Contact The Host

* All fields are required.