We’re hiring! Join Us.

Latest Stories

View More →

NHL to Announce Award Winners before Game 2.

by Photo of Antoinette Cammarano

Before Game 2 of the Stanley Cup finals, the NHL will announce the winners of their various awards.

NHL to Announce Award Winners before Game 2.

Right now, the main focus of hockey fans across the nation is who will be the winner of this year's Stanley Cup. The winning team, as always, will have their names engraved on the prestigious trophy and will go down in hockey history. 

However, the Stanley Cup is not the only trophy on the line this weekend. The NHL will announce the winners of their various awards this Saturday before the start of game two. Between 5-8pm, the NHL will hold a ceremony at the United Center (home of the Chicago Blackhawks) to announce the winners. 

The trophies up for grabs in the NHL include: 

  • Bill Masterton Memorial
  • Frank J. Selke Trophy
  • King Clancy Trophy
  • Lady Byng Trophy
  • Jack Adams Award
  • Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award
  • NHL Foundation Player Award
  • NHL General Manager of the Year Award
  • Hart Memorial
  • Calder Memorial
  • James Morris Memorial
  • Vezina Trophy
  • Ted Lindsay Award          

The winners of these prestigious awards can be seen on NHL Network from 5-7pm EST. 

Following this ceremony, NBCSports in the United States and CBC in Canada will begin announcing the winners of the Hart Memorial, the Calder Memorial, the James Norris Memorial, Vezina Trophy, and the Ted Lindsay Award. Check local listings for channel numbers.

The finalists for each trophy are as follows, with my predictions for the award winners underlined:

The Bill Masterton Memorial:

  • Sidney Crosby (PIT)
  • Josh Harding (MIN)
  • Adam McQuaid (BOS)

The Frank J. Selke Trophy: 

  • Patrice Bergeron (BOS)
  • Pavel Datysuk (DET)
  • Jonathan Toews (CHI)

The King Clancy Trophy:

Awarded to the player who has shown leadership on and off the ice and who has made noteworthy humanitarian contributions to the community. Chosen by a special panel of the Professional Hockey Writer's Association and the NHL Broadcaster's Association.

The Lady Byng Trophy:

  • Patrick Kane (CHI)
  • Matt Moulson (NYI)
  • Martin St. Louis (TBL)

The Jack Adams Award:

  • Paul Maclean (OTT)
  • Bruce Boudreau (ANA)
  • Joel Quenneville (CHI)

The Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award:

  • Daniel Alfredsson (OTT)
  • Dustin Brown (LAK)
  • Jonathan Toews (CHI)

The NHL Foundation Player Award:

This award is given to the NHL player who exemplifies the "core values" of hockey: commitment, perseverance, and teamwork.

The NHL General Manager of the Year Award:

  • Marc Bergevin (MTL)
  • Bob Murray (ANA)
  • Pay Shero (PIT)

The Hart Memorial:

  • Sidney Crosby (PIT)
  • Alex Ovechkin (WSH)
  • John Tavares (NYI)

The Calder Memorial:

  • Brandon Saad (CHI)
  • Jonathan Huberdeau  (FLA)
  • Brenden Gallagher ( MTL)

The James Norris Memorial:

  • Kris Letang (PIT)
  • P.K. Subban (MTL)
  • Ryan Suter (MIN)

The Vezina Award:

  • Henrik Lundqvist (NYR)
  • Antti Niemi (SJS)
  • Sergei Bobrovsky (CBJ)

The Ted Lindsay Award:

  • Sidney Crosby (PIT)
  • Alex Ovechkin (WSH)
  • Martin St. Louis (TBL)

So while the majority of the focus may be on who's going to win the Stanley Cup, there are other awards up for grabs for those who may not be competing for the leagues coveted trophy. 

Tune into the ceremonies Saturday night to see who will win these prestigious awards.

Let CHARGED.fm keep you on top of the Stanley Cup Finals by finding you Chicago Blackhawks tickets and Boston Bruins tickets!

Comments (0)
  1. Add a Comment

    All fields marked with * are required.

Continue (x)

Please Login…

To continue, please login into your CHARGED.fm account.

Don't have an account?
for free.

Hold on a sec…

Login (x)

Hold on a sec…

Sign Up (x)

Hold on a sec…

Share with Friends (x)

Share on other sites

Share this event on your favourite sites and other online communities.

Note: These links will open in a new window

Contact Host (x)
Contact The Host

* All fields are required.